Woo Freaking Hoo!!!

Today my dance coach and I looked at the professional routines that he is going to use for his pro-pro student. (In pro-pro competition both dancers are considered professionals but only one is being judged. In this case, his partner will be judged). Even though I just learned all of the new intermediate routines, I took one look at these routines and I decided that I want to do them.

…and he said yes. And he is letting me help do the choreography. This is real honest-to-goodness, tell a story, advanced professional level dancing. I could NOT be more excited. All of the technical problems that I was having in the intermediate routine immediately went away as we started to work on these routines. This is what usually happens and why it’s so difficult for me to do routines that are at my level. Once I jump to something that seems impossible, it’s as if my brain tells my feet "Look, we don’t have time for this petty shit any more so get the technique right, we have bigger fish to fry" and my feet and body respond and suddenly things that I have been struggling with for years just correct themselves.

The thing about the routines that we’ve been doing so far is that they are designed to simply show basic technique "Look, I can put my feet together on my turns", "look, I can close into third position for my waltz" etc. etc. There’s no story, there’s no interpretation of the music, it’s simply a show of your skills. You have to work hard to make it entertaining. I was talking to Rowdy a couple of days ago saying that there HAS to be more than this. What is the point of dancing if you are just doing it technically correctly? Dancing is about the music, it’s about the story and about using your body to tell the story. With enough practice almost anyone can have great technique but that’s not the end goal, it’s just the beginning.

At the level of dancing that I’m now doing, it’s expected that I already have great technique and so that is no longer the issues. The issue instead becomes using your body to create lines, tell a story, enhance and bring out the music. I was so excited I almost couldn’t stand still. I’m really dancing – I’m dancing at a level that I thought would take me years to reach and I’m doing it right now.

Published in: on April 12, 2006 at 5:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

