A Move with my legs in stirrups that I actually like!

There is a move in pilates where you lay on your back with your feet in straps (I know what you’re thinking girls, and it’s not nearly that BAD). You pull your legs up and over your head (behind you) so that you are resting on your shoulders and looking up and back at your feet. (Essentially, you have to get your ass over your head. (I know what you’re thinking guys, it’s not nearly that GOOD.) I have been working on this since the first day I started Pilates.

Every day that I work on pilates at home I lay on the floor to practice this. I put out what feels like a tremendous amount of effort for an almost imperceptible move in my body. I imagine that I look like a goldfish out of water and on his last breath.I just have a whole lotta ass to get over my head and I had a bit of fear that if I got it up there it would all collapse on me like a flan in a cupboard. We tried this move on Tuesday and I couldn’t do it. Yesterday, it was easy. I just floated up like I was doing it all my life. So cool!

So we moved on to a more difficult version (where you elongate the straps) more difficult and shaky form, but I did it too!. This is mostly due to the fact that I have the best pilates instructor in the world.

Published in: on May 13, 2006 at 5:23 pm  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Envious of this too. Hate Short Spine, because I am terrible at it. Can I ask how many springs you are using?

    • Hi there,

      Trust me, I was really terrible at it in the beginning. Flopping around like a fish out of water. Eventually I got down to the lightest possible spring support and now I can do it without springs but it really took time.

      ~Ragen


Leave a Reply

