We Did It!

Woo Hoo.  Had the first dance classes for bigger bodies today (very seriously need a better name).  It was a little bit rough which I expected – lots of people at lots of different levels.  The people who came were completely awesome and I definitely hope that they will come back.

I found myself getting emotional at various times in the class, just the idea that by sheer force of will the 21 of us had created a space full of body love and movement is completely amazing to me.  It’s like, for 2 hours, I got to step outside of a culture that does its best to make me hate my body each and every day, and step into a fantasy world where people with all different body shapes smile, and dance, and laugh.

Today was a great day in my life.

Published in: on January 10, 2009 at 10:43 pm  Comments (13)  

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That sounds so awesome! Keep up the ass-kicking work, R! :)

    • Thanks, hopefully we’ll be able to do it in Portland this July!

  2. Intro and yay

    That sounds amazing and I wish I lived close enough to take that class!

    I also wanted to say HI and I added you after reading about a post of yours on the fatosphere feed. Looking forward to reading you!

    • Re: Intro and yay

      Hi Back,

      Thanks for the encouragement, and for friending me, I have friended you back. I noticed that you are in Pittsburg. My entire family is from the Lancaster area originally. I’m actually going to be visiting my mom in Northumberland (near Wilkes-Barre) all next week. It’s been too long since I was stuck behind a buggy :)

      Quick question – I have never heard of the fatosphere feed. It’s awesome that they picked up one of my posts, but my google-fu just failed me…can you point me towards where you found it?

      Thanks!

      • Re: Intro and yay

        Fatosphere feed-

        http://www.google.com/s2/profiles/118202440053146631570?hl=en

        It didn’t pick up your post, but there was a post on the feed that linked yours so I followed it and ended up here.

        Pittsburgh is a great place. We don’t get many buggies here, though. The hills are too steep. :)

        • Re: Intro and yay

          It’s possible that you followed the link from the post on my blog, the Fat Lady Sings, because that’s on the fatosphere. It’s a great resource. :D

          • Re: Intro and yay

            Indeed-that’s what it was! Thanks for posting it.

  3. Today was AWESOME! I cannot thank you enough for putting it all together.

    And hopefully soon all of my movements will be “cha-cha-esque”, and I will be fluent in “Ragenese” and then I can start my own “danceocracy”.

    Hey, I’ve been looking for an excuse to use those words for like, seven hours now! ;)

    • I’m am so very much glad that you had fun :) I adore your icon – I am a Disney nut and especially a Lilo and Stitch fan (I LIKE fluffy!!!!)

      See you Saturday, have a cha-cha-esque week.

  4. This was such an awesome and inspiring post :-D

  5. That sounds like so much fun – I wish I was in the area so I could join all of you! :o)

  6. FUN FUN fun trip oops FUN

    I had fun and will see you next week….I hope – life is so uncertain ;)

    • Re: FUN FUN fun trip oops FUN

      Yay! I’m so glad that you have fun and I certainly hope to see you soon!


Leave a Reply

