Definition of Dork/Nerd/Geek

This started as a reply to aeryn42 ‘s post, but now I want my friends to weigh in.  Here is my 2cents:

Dork: Someone with a lack of social skills and grace. Not necessarily of above-average intelligence or with any sort of hobby, just generally awkward.

Nerd (two categories)

Vanilla Nerd: Someone of above-average intelligence, at least some degree of social awkwardness, and a passion for non-technical English/History/Math/Science pursuits that has caused them to be teased. Aka: bookish, smartypants, know-it-all, teacher’s pet etc.

[Modified] Nerd: Someone of above-average intelligence, at least some degree of social awkwardness, with a passionate interest/devotion to some hobby that is generally considered uncool (you must have been teased about your interest/devotion in order to qualify). The hobby modifies the word nerd when describing these nerds; ie: Buffy Nerd, SCA Nerd, Magic the Gathering Nerd etc.

Geek: Someone of above-average intelligence, at least some degree of social awkwardness, with a passionate interest/devotion to technical/computer pursuits including coding, fixing, building, etc. IT Projected Managers who do not do the technical side are simply wanna be geeks or ‘suits".

Published in: on January 21, 2009 at 10:03 am  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hmmm. I’m not sure about the definition of geek. I consider myself a complete geek and I have no coding or computer fixing ability whatsoever (I do work in IT). My geekiness is defined by my social awkwardness and fanboyish pursuits (Doctor Who, action figures, Star Wars, wanting to marry George Lucas at 16 and wanting to punch him at 21, comic books, Douglas Adams, Douglas Coupland, etc).

    My definition: Nerds like Star Trek, geeks like Star Wars.

    • I would also tend to imagine that anyone with “42” in their user name is a geek.


Leave a Reply

