We Need a Better Anthem

I heard someone the other day call “And I am Telling You”  (also known as “You’re Gonna Love Me”) the ultimate woman-power and fat girl  anthem.  I have some problems with that.

Mostly because in the song she is telling a man who know longer wants her that she is going to stay and that he is going to love her, but also for the following reasons:

********DREAMGIRLS SPOILER ALERT.  SKIP THIS PARAGRAPH TO SKIP THE SPOILERS*********

1.  He treats her horribly

2.  He has already cheated on her

3. He has already said that he doesn’t want her.

4. He leaves her in the end

**************End of Spoilers************************

Now, I’m fine with that being the plot of the movie.  I am NOT fine with that being my anthem.

Might I suggest Deborah Cox’s “Absolutely Not”

What song gets your vote for ultimate empowerment anthem?

Published in: on April 25, 2010 at 12:52 am  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hmmm. My intersecting blogospheres are very musically oriented this week. Here’s a few off the top of my head:

    “Overweight” by Blue October (it’s really about emotional baggage, but the lyrics fit so well: “I want to come unglued/ I want to shape the world to fit the way you move/ Oh, should I listen for a dress size?/ …/ I want to learn to walk with others as an equal/ I want to treat the ones who love me with respect/ I want to tell the world I’ll give them all a piggyback/ and try to take away my negative effect”)

    “Beautiful” Christina Aguilera

    “The Impossible Dream” from Man of La Mancha (I particularly like the Sarah Connor version)

    “Paper Doll” by Kittie (more angry-ranty than anthemy, but gets me in a fighting mood)

    I’ll have to bookmark this, go home and look through my music collection and come back.

  2. Hello, Regan. A friend of mine posted a link to this entry, and I am glad I followed it and discovered your blog. I’ve been loving what you have to say.

    For an empowerment anthem, I like something happy and upbeat, that is about what I think of me rather than about what others might think of me (and what I might think about what they think). I really like the song “Beautiful” by the indie artist Faith Rivera– this is not a cover of the Christina Aguilera song, which is also good, but a completely different song with the same name. You can give it a listen and also find the lyrics here:

    http://www.reverbnation.com/faithrivera

    Faith does a lot of spiritual music, so hopefully you won’t be put off by the other song titles. Her version of “Kumbaya” (again, not a cover of the well known spiritual) is my favorite song of hers, and an empowerment anthem in its own way.

    If you get a chance to listen to Faith’s songs, I hope you enjoy them. Thanks again for your wonderful blog.


Leave a Reply

