DancesWithFat World Tour!

I thought about it, I hinted at it, now I’m actually doing it!

I want to take this show on the road – spread the body appreciation, meet awesome people, have fantastic adventures. (Fair warning:  the rest of today’s blog is going to be about this.  I’ll be back to my regularly scheduled rambling thoughts tomorrow…)

I’m going to do the first leg of the tour in the US to coincide with premieres of America the Beautiful II – The Thin Commandments.  I am in the film and it is being release by Warner Brothers in October and November.  I’m super excited about giving talks, teaching dance classes, doing workshops with other people, and participating in collaborations and community events (like the moth-type events we were talking about in comments a few days ago), whatever brings people together and supports them on their journey!

If you’re interested in supporting this or getting involved, there are lots of ways:

Tour Stops!

If you want me come to your town/group/university etc., just let me know (you can comment below or e-mail me with your name and your city) It doesn’t matter if you have a budget or a plan at this point, or if you want to put on an event or just come to one…it’s just important that you are interested and we can go from there. (If you want to see more about the speaking topics and types of classes I do you can check that out here)

Because of film premieres and dance competitions I already know some of the stops for sure. The list is below –  if you want to get something going in those cities let me know right away (if your city isn’t listed, never fear, just comment or e-mail and we’ll see about getting it added!)

First Leg:

  • New York City
  • Los Angeles
  • Austin
  • Houston
  • San Francisco/Oakland
  • Panama City Beach, Florida
  • Atlanta
  • Dallas
  • Portland
  • Seattle
  • Ventura
  • Las Vegas
  • Orlando

Second Leg

Still being scheduled.  Currently looking at Australia, the Netherlands, Norway, and the UK as well as stops in the states in Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tucson and more.  E-mail me to add a stop in your city!

Connect!

You can be kept updated (and make me look popular to potential speaking gigs) by:

Subscribing to the blog at the top right hand corner of this page

Subscribing to the Newsletter

Following me on Twitter

Friending me on Facebook

Moolah!

Airfare, hotels, and then for the upcoming book there’s editing and self-publishing.  It all adds up!  I will not be monetizing the blog (I actually pay to NOT have ads on this blog because they’re always about weight loss and it’s super annoying.)  I will be doing some fun projects to help fund the tour. You’ll be able to find them on the Support the World Tour page!

This has come quite a long way since I was writing a blog that was read by six people.  Thanks for reading, commenting, and being awesome inspirations, I hope to see you soon!

Published in: on September 26, 2011 at 12:14 pm  Comments (74)  

74 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, how exciting! I wish you would come to Australia! :-)

  2. How exciting!! Maybe I’ll make a trip out to Atlanta to see you…it’s not a far drive. It would be great to behold your awesomeness in the flesh!

    And you’re so right about advertisements…they are always about weight loss. I’ve just tuned them out so much that I stopped noticing. Spot on, as ever, Ragen!

  3. I would LOVE to have you come to Oslo, Norway. Somehow size acceptance has sort of managed to skip my country so far, and I’ve been trying to work out how to gather people for something positive while spreading the message. You coming to speak (and possibly do a workshop and/or class) would just be perfect!
    I would help with the practical aspects of it as much as I can, but quite honestly I have no experience with things like speaking tours.

  4. Washington, DC!

    • (I think DC would welcome both a dance class and a speaking event!)

    • I 2nd (or 3rd) DC! There are no places on your list that are close to me. I can TOTALLY do DC and there’s a great NAAFA chapter there as well.

      I would DIE (ok, not literally) for a chance to take a dance class from you, but I would be very, very happy if you came to speak as well. =)

  5. Albuquerque, NM! :)

  6. Hooray! I live near Seattle and I’d love to come and see you!

  7. I would totally come to something in Colorado! Probably Denver, but if you could swing Ft. Collins or Loveland I might possibly burst with excitement!

    • Oh wow Cami I was just about to post this exact same comment saying Denver would be great but Ft Collins/Loveland would be even more awesome! I thought I was the only one in this area :-)

  8. I was just talking to my husband last night about how you can’t monetize your blog – I said she should because its so good but it would all be weight loss ads… rrrrrrrrrrrrrr…
    I’m in Dallas and can’t wait for you to get here and do anything I’ll be there and blogging about it!

  9. Reno! You’ll love it here. Also, we’re close-ish to San Francisco. I have no budget, but would love to help you get something going here.

    Shaunta
    shauntagrimes@gmail.com

  10. Boston, MA! Woooo!

    • Seconded :)

  11. I’m in Portland and am a student at National College of Natural Medicine (you may have heard me mention it several times at the ASDAH conference). :) I can probably arrange a talk with our students here, though it would be fun to hang out at the very least!

  12. I am in Manchester UK :-(

  13. While you’re in the San Francisco area you should totally come speak at Google – I’ve got a fledgling HAES group starting here. :)

    • You do? If you got Regan to come to Google, would outsiders be welcome? I could get to SF/Oakland, but Silicon Valley would be much easier.
      Regan – I’m in Cupertino (near San Jose) if that makes planning easier for you.

  14. Don’t suppose there’s any chance of you making it out to Lawrence, KS; or at least maybe to Kansas City? *hopes*

    • You totally need to make a (few!!!!) stops in Kansas. I am a fat dancer and have been dancing for years with a great group of couples. I am in Hutchinson, but Wichita has a great nightclub, or you could come be in our Dillon Lecture Series out of Hutchinson and help raise awareness, maybe get on the bullying bandwagon? Would love to see you in kansas!!!!!!

  15. CHICAGO! Though I’m in the burbs, I think Chicago would be all about a dance class/speaking event.

  16. Edmonton, Alberta Canada!

    Are there any Canadians here who’d like to get together and come up with some sort of plan/supportive group to make this happen?
    Email me soularsister@gmail.com

  17. I’m in Philadelphia, PA and might have some suggestions for venues…

  18. fantastic! I’ll see you in Atlanta!

  19. Yes! I can’t wait for you to come to Houston! ^_^ I’ll be sure to see what you’re doing~ Wouldn’t miss it for the world :)

  20. If you manage to find yourself on the East Coast of Australia (say Brisbane or Sydney) I’ll be there with bells on!!!
    How exciting!!

    • Melbourne!

  21. I got really excited when I saw “World Tour”. I thought “finally someone is actually going to come here and travel to places other than in their own country!” Then I read the locations….

    World Tour that’s only in America?

    So anyone outside of America is in outer space? Hey that’s cool, being among the stars and all. Still, it’d be nice if World Tour actually meant the world and not just one country.

    • Wow, you committed to your assumption and just went with it. So far the cities are only in America because this is the first day that the tour has been announced and it’s based on the premiere schedule of America the Beautiful 2 -The Thin Commandments. That’s why I asked people if they were interested in me coming to their city – to add tour stops. Based on feedback just from today I’m currently looking at adding stops in the UK, Australia, New Zealand and Canada. If you have suggestions I’d love to hear them!

      Thanks!

      ~Ragen

  22. COME TO AUSTIN oh wait we both live here. :) Can’t wait to see what you have cooking!

  23. I’d love for you to come to Tucson, AZ, though in practical terms (travel expenses, population density, etc.), Phoenix, AZ, might be a better bet.

  24. You weren’t kidding before when I asked, you really are coming to Orlando?

    *pauses to do happy dance*

    Thanks!

    • Yuppers! My World Championships are there so we’ll see what we can arrange in terms of events. Woo hoo!

      ~Ragen

  25. Salt Lake City, Utah?

  26. That’s awesome. Way to go at making your dreams come true!

  27. you mentioned Portland as one of your stops…Did you mean Portland, OR or Portland, Maine? Cuz if you didn’t mean Portland, OR, hear my plea — please please come here!!

    • Hi Margaret,

      Nope, I meant Portland, OR and it’s looking really good for Portland right now :) See you soon!

      ~Ragen

  28. I would love it if you came to speak at my school in the Netherlands, but Dutch people are little familiar with size acceptance and I have no idea how to organize something like that. I also don’t know if you’d be interested in coming all the way over here. Just thinking out loud.

  29. Is this a joke? This is what you call a world tour? Looks more like an US-Tour to me… I like your Blog very much, but the US is not the world…

    • This is not a joke – you’ve simply made an incorrect assumption. As I said in the blog “Because of film premieres and dance competitions I already know some of the stops for sure” and “If you want me come to your town/group/university etc., just let me know ” So far the cities are only in America because yesterday was the first day that the tour has been announced and it’s based on the premiere schedule of America the Beautiful 2 -The Thin Commandments and my upcoming dance competitions. That’s why I asked people if they were interested in me coming to their city – to add tour stops. Based on feedback just from yesterday I’m currently looking at adding stops in the UK, Australia, New Zealand and Canada. If you have suggestions I’d love to hear them!

      Thanks!
      ~Ragen

  30. When you are in NYC I think I can arrange for you to speak at Long Island University Brooklyn Campus. The School of Health Professions and its Public Health Program could arrange to present your talk/ dance class or whatever! Just email me with information about your fee, dates, and any other info and I will work on this!
    Hope we can make this happen.

  31. I would LOVE to have you come out here to Philadelphia, PA! I have no idea for venues and whatnot, but I would definitely attend a talk/dance class :)

  32. I’ll be there if you have an event in Dallas! I absolutely love your blog!

  33. San Francisco! Actually, I sent you an email about this, let me know if you didn’t get it.

  34. Please come to Baltimore or DC!

    • I hope you’ll come to Boston, but if not, I’d come out to Baltimore/DC or NYC to see you.

  35. So glad you’re planning to come to the SF Bay Area! (Oaktown represent! *grin*)

    • Lexica,

      Be careful what you wish for – I’m actually considering moving to the area :)

      ~Ragen

  36. Please come to Dallas/Ft Worth! I would love, love, love to see you here!

  37. Howsabout San Antonio! You could still even sleep in your own bed at night!

  38. I hope you will come to Newfoundland, Canada. My daughter and I were just talking about how her junior high needs a HAES talk, and you’d be perfect!

    • Yes!! Another Ragen fan on the Rock!

  39. Someone already said Houston, but HOUSTON! lol

  40. Wow, that’s awesome! I was just thinking the other day that I’d love to have you come here to Boston someday to do your teaching from a body-positive perspective workshop. (The belly dance world has wider goalposts, but we still have a long way to go before we’re really walking our talk.)

    I’ve never organized an event before, but there’s no time like the present. And maybe we can get Boston’s Big Moves chapter involved.

    (I see there’s a lot of interest for DC as well. Just FYI, the Acela is a lovely, comfortable train that runs from DC -> NYC -> Boston)

  41. Come to Chicago!

  42. Please come to the UK – you are needed here! Especially in the north of England, around Manchester/Liverpool :-).

  43. I live in Jackson. Memphis, TN is about 80 miles away. Either stop. Even Nashville. I will drive to see you. I’m going to forward this to the awesome Audrey May to see if she can think of some wonderful women’s event-type thing for you. Yea!

  44. Brisbane, Australia!

  45. Vancouver, BC! We’re only 3 hours’ drive north of Seattle.

  46. Aww man, we could really use your message here in Utah. Good luck on yer tour!

    • Hi!

      Where in Utah, I’m still adding tour stops…

      ~Ragen

  47. You have to come to Detroit. Maybe we can do something with Love Your Body Detroit. =0)

  48. I’d love to see some “not Toronto” Canadian destinations (sorry peeps from the T-Dot but Toronto is *not* the centre of the universe)- come on down to Halifax, NS for some down east hospitality :)

    • I will work on a Halifax stop – if you know any groups there that might want to work with me that would be awesome :)

      ~Ragen

  49. I see both Atlanta and NYC, and that there’s a strong voice for DC… I don’t suppose you could work in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill NC area? I-95 goes straight up the coast – it’d be easy to slip North Carolina in between Atlanta and DC.

    I’m actually about 4 hours from the Triangle and have no connections there or any easy way to set up an event, but between highways, airports, and population, you’d probably have a much easier time doing an event there than out here on the coast.

    New Bern, NC, and Jacksonville, NC are each within about 45 minutes of me. A stop in Morehead City, NC would make me delirious with joy. Checking out the Support the World Tour page next…

    • Yes, North Carolina! Raleigh area would be fabulous, but I’d drive! Dance class, please!

      • Awesome, we’re still looking for organizations that want to host me in the area so if you know anyone please feel free to send them along. Otherwise I’ll keep you posted as to things going on in that area!

        ~Ragen

  50. A shot in the dark but….
    I know we are way up here, but it would be awesome to see this come to Anchorage, Alaska. Maybe work something out in conjunction with UAA (University of Alaska Anchorage).
    Just thought I’d put my two cents in :) Thanks for all the great work your doing!

  51. I’m in Buffalo, NY and would LOVE to participate in anything you put on. I don’t really have the time to organize anything myself though.

    And if Buffalo is too small of a city, Toronto is just a short drive away and I’d gladly make the trip to come see you!

    • Awesome! I’ll keep you posted about anything in upstate/Northern NY (I used to live in Watertown) and in Toronto.

      Thanks,

      ~Ragen


Leave a Reply

