In Case of Emergency – Break Blog

If you are celebrating Christmas today then Merry Christmas to you! Many of my friends, of all kinds of faiths and non-faiths, are at gatherings today and I hope that each of those gatherings brings amazing memories of time spent with family and friends.

Just in case that’s not quite how they go, here are some thoughts:

Your body is amazing – it breathes for you, pumps blood around all the time and does all kinds of cool things.  It deserves respect and admiration. If people don’t recognize that, it’s 100% their problem and a big flaming sack of not yours.

Everything that people say to you is a reflection of where they are in their life – if they are engaging in body shaming, food policing or other inappropriate behavior, remember that it’s about them, not about you. You do not have to take it personally or internalize it.

That doesn’t mean that you have to allow it to happen either.  You decide how people treat you and then you teach them how to treat you that way.  Don’t be afraid to set boundaries and consequences and then follow through. It’s ok to stand up for yourself, it’s ok to leave the room, it’s ok to leave the State.  It’s also ok to just get through it, but if you take that path may I suggest that you spend a lot of energy making sure that you aren’t internalizing those messages.

Good intentions do not negate bad behavior unless you decide that they do.

It’s a feast holiday, so it’s possible that feeling guilty about eating defeats the point.

People are allowed to be on diets, but if they feel the need to be incredibly vocal about it consider that they may have some issues that they are dealing with.  Again, this is a big flaming sack of not your problem.  Other people’s choices do not invalidate your choices, and vice versa.  Some dieters have a hard time with this – they need everyone to buy into dieting so that they can feel comfortable about their decision.  That doesn’t obligate you to buy in.

Once more with feeling:  Your body is amazing – it breathes for you, pumps blood around all the time and does all kinds of cool things.  It deserves respect and admiration. If people don’t recognize that, it’s 100% their problem and a big flaming sack of not yours.

Here’s to a wonderful season of loving and appreciating your body.

Published in: on December 25, 2011 at 7:38 am  Comments (11)  

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Merry Christmas!

  2. thank u 4 this timely post.

  3. thank you Ragen! very helpful today!

  4. Merry Christmas Ragan! And to everyone else here!

  5. “Everything that people say to you is a reflection of where they are in their life…” Well said! I may have to post on my Facebook page (and all around my house so I can remember it!).

    Once again, Ragen, thank you so much for all you do. This blog has REALLY really helped me in my growth as a human being and has been such a place of support as I have been working to let go of the diet mentality and begin a new phase of healthy living in my life. I don’t post every day, but I read every day and I read the comments, as they are so helpful and supportive as well.

    Happy Holidays and may you and everyone on this blog have a Happy and Prosperous New Year!

    ~ ManDee

  6. This is fabulous! Being a big T-shirt person, now I’m imagining it being printed on a black T-shirt with cool multicolored typography.

    • Glad you liked it, love the t-shirt idea :)

      ~Ragen

  7. Have a joyful Christmas, Regan!

  8. Just seeing the words and hearing them as I read them out loud works amazingly well.
    Thanks for the boost! Happy Holidays!

  9. BLESS YOU for this! I’m seeing my parents tomorrow, and the dread is keeping me awake. I will hang onto the idea of “not mine” and try to use that as a protective shield. Thanks so much for reminding me to thank my body, not hate it.

    • Nellie,

      Good luck tomorrow! One of the little statements that I use when approached by crazy (either in my mind or out loud to the person spouting the crazy depending on the situation) is “That’s not mine, you can keep it.”

      ~Ragen

      ________________________________


Leave a Reply

