Enough is Enough – The Big Fat Money Bomb

For the last 9 months, every single day, children in Atlanta have seen billboards, commercials, and signs at bus stops like this:

If you are thinking “it’s not that big a deal” I want to tell you that, as a former bullied fat kid, I think it is a very big deal.  The messages couldn’t be clearer.  If you’re fat – you should be ashamed.  If you’re not fat – you should be terrified of becoming fat because fat people are diseased gluttons by choice and it’s ok to publicly shame them.

If Atlanta was a gymnasium, fat kids would be standing against the wall while older, bigger kids from CHOA hurl dodgeballs at them.

I couldn’t stand not to do something.  Something big enough to show these kids that, even if they feel all alone, someone has their backs.

Enough is enough. It’s time to stand up for these kids and give them a tangible symbol of support and hope.  It’s time to stand up for the powerless bullied fat kids some of us used to be.  It’s time to stand up for our current fat selves,  friends, family and neighbors.

It’s time to do something big.  Today is Big Fat Money Bomb day. We are raising the money to put up billboards and print media campaigns from a Health at Every Size® perspective to show kids of all sizes that they are valued and respected.

Thanks to the More of Me to Love Match, we are already half way to our first billboard. They have donated $5,000, and to access that money all we need to do is raise the other $5,000 and get 1,000 individual donors, so every little bit helps and your donation goes twice as far.

Does $5,000 sound like a lot?  Let’s put some perspective on this number. If each of my followers gave $10, we would raise $21,220 – enough for 2 billboards and a large media campaign with the MOMTL match.  If each visitor to the blog from yesterday donated $10 we would raise $41,680, enough for four billboards and a massive media campaign.  To meet goal we only need $5,000.  We can do this!  And when those billboards go up and as the publicity around them gets our experts into the media talking about the Health at Every Size(r) Approach, we can all be proud.

I remember what it was like to be bullied as a kid.  Right now there are fat kids in Atlanta doing the very best they can to deal with the shame, stigma, and humiliation being thrown at them.  Let’s stand up and help them fight back.

Update: We raised over $12,000 in our first 24 hours on 2/2/12.  Now our goal is to get 1,000 individual donors so that we can unlock our challenge donation of $5,000 from More of Me to Love!   Wo today (2/3/12) is Solidarity Dollar Day.  If you are reading this I’m asking you to spend a minute of your time and a dollar of your money to show that you care about these kids and help us get another $5,000 to run a massive media campaign with bus stop signs, ads in newspapers etc.

DONATE A Solidarity Dollar NOW!

If your donation is more than $5.00  it is also greatly appreciated and you’ll donate through our GoFundMe site.  Click Here!

Every donation, no matter how small, bring us closer to getting 1,000 individual donors and unlocking our $5,000 More of Me to Love Matching Donation.  Every little bit TRULY helps!

Published in: on February 2, 2012 at 5:36 am  Comments (36)  

36 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have been trying to make a donation but it keeps telling me my expiry date is ‘in the past’ even though I am entering 11/12

    Not sure what to do…

    • Maybe it’s using a YY/MM format. Have you tried putting in 12/11 instead?

    • Hi Bri,

      Are you entering the year “2012”? you have to use all four digits. If that doesn’t work then you can paypal me at bodypositivedance at yahoo dot com and I’ll make the donation on GoFundMe in your name. Thanks for supporting the campaign!

  2. Go Ragen!

  3. Feeling really inspired by this project! I’ve chipped in & tweeted (@UnchartedWorlds).

    I was just thinking, I hope that whatever we vote for on the billboard is an assertive/positive, timeless, universally-relevant sort of message, as opposed to only a negation of the rubbish earlier messages.

  4. So inspired by you, thank you on behalf of all kids.
    It makes me mad to see those kids in those ads – and wonder, how could their parents let them be in those? Their parents SHOULD be ashamed :(

  5. Those kids are perfectly healthy professional models, who were PAID to be in those ads, which, in a sense, makes it worse. The ads are lies anyway, but what it says about THOSE children is an egregious lie. Their parents are most likely much like the parents of many child models/actors, & they got their kids into the business for the purpose of making money. And I agree, they should be ashamed.

  6. Darnit, I want to donate but I’m about to be slammed with a massive bill for car repairs. I have literally no excess cash :(

  7. Thank you for leading this!!!! Donated and spread the word- and according to the donation page, we’re already close to the $5k goal!!

  8. Donation made! Can’t wait to hear about the results!

  9. The donation page just broke 5k!! Woo-hoo!

  10. Donation made (I think — no confirmation received, donation page went back to blank “payment info” page, rather than “thank you” page.)
    Regan, is there any way you can check?

    @Dan, I added a little extra for you, so Regan, please count it as two folks?

    • I just received confirmation email, so it did go thru. Yay!

  11. “Those kids are perfectly healthy professional models”

    We don’t know how healthy they are just by looking at them.

    But I agree that their parents should be ashamed. Imagine the bullying they’re probably enduring at school now that their faces are plastered on billboards all over town! D:

    • Actually, there was a news story about these models that showed just that: these kids are healthy, without the conditions they purport to show.

      Ragen, thank you!!!

      • I didn’t know that. I’m glad they’re healthy!

  12. I just made a donation. Looking at those Georgia billboards reminds me of all the fat shaming done to me as a child and I get angry.

    Thanks Ragen for getting the word out about this project.

  13. Done and I’m about to send it out on my blog mailing list! It’s still early here in Callie! :D

  14. Donated! And I’m loving watching those numbers tick up… This is such a fantastic idea. :)

  15. It’s exciting watching the donations climb! Every single donator is another voice against bullying, shame, and cruelty, whether that donation is one dollar or a thousand.

    Guys, WE’RE REALLY DOING THIS AND IT’S FRACKING BRILLIANT!

  16. Done…AND I’ve posted a plea on my blog too.

  17. I love you Ragen!!! (and all the beautiful amazing people who are helping to make this happen!) I’m totally crying tears of joy right now! From a fellow fat kid who was bullied, this all means so much to me, and I am absolutely thrilled I can be a part of it.

  18. This is an awesome project, and I was so happy to add my donation to everyone else’s today. Ragen, you do amazing work spreading truth and fighting all the negativity and shaming that is directed at people’s bodies and I respect the heck out of you!!!!

  19. Donated. I wand the whole world to hear about HAES. I want fat kids and fat adults to be respected. I want the hate and the shame to end.

  20. Thank you for caring. I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t “fat”. As a young kid I was sexually abused, dressed, & suicidal. Being over weight was the LEAST of my issues.

    I was also, apparently, popular. I say that because my senior year of HS a girl I didn’t know wanted to sign my year book and asked, “How did you get to be so popular? ” WHAT?? “You know everyone”. I had no idea that others thought of me as anything other than a random girl in a class.

    I made the effort to be all inclusive. I didn’t care if they were a goth, jock, theater/art geek, science nerd, etc. I treated everyone equally – with kindness – the way I wanted to be treated. Apparently no one cared that I was over weight.

    • errr depressed *laugh* did I mention I have dyslexia…ya that too.

  21. When is the last day to make a donation? If I can’t use a credit card, can I send money by snail mail?

    • So sorry, this got buried in my comment box. We will close the donations when we hit 1,000 donors. You can donate by snail mail, if you want to do that please e-mail me at ragen at danceswithfat dot org

      Thanks so much!!!
      ~Ragen

  22. I’m so glad to have found you. This is just what i’ve been looking for. I’m puting something to gether to bolth support and celebrate us. There are so many plus sized girls and women that don’t but really need to know about this stuff. Please check out my profile that explains everything.

  23. Ragen, is there another way to donate? I am uncomfortable using PayPal these days.

  24. By the way, gofundme is unfriendly to people with mononyms.

    • Yeah I found that too, although having a second initial was OK. The team themselves are lovely mind you, they replied really quickly to try and help me sort out my problem donating.

      • Hit post too soon – Ragen, I don’t want to give PayPal any more of my money after the whole Regretsy thing etc. I won’t use them. I’m talking with GoFundMe about trying to get it to recognise my weird card number! :-)


Leave a Reply

