Bad Magicians

Lately I’ve seen a lot of conpanies who seem to think that they are magicians instead of massive for-profit entities who are making money off the backs of the fat people who they are stomping on.

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta tried to pull a rabbit out of their hat when they claimed that the fact that the National Eating Disorder Association, Kaiser Permanente, the National Institute of Health and many others had condemned their program as harmful to kids was actually a good thing.  It turns out, they desperately explained, that they were just trying to start a conversation and they want us all to say what a good job they did since everyone’s talking about it.

Of course in order to believe this you would first have to buy the ludicrous idea that people aren’t talking about obesity, then you would have to think it was ok to harm millions of kids in order to start a conversation that is meant to keep kids from harm.

Next Vivus waved their magic wand and got an FDA panel to reverse the decision of the full FDA in 2010 and recommend approval of a very dangerous drug, based on the testimony of experts who were paid by…wait for it…Vivus.  Dr. Michael S. Lauer, a cardiologist at the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, was one of only 2 members on the panel to vote against approval.  He mentioned that the drug might increase risk of heart attack (because ostensibly people would be taking the medicine expecting  to lower that risk) I imagine that Dr. Lauer risked professional misconduct charges for going on the record and saying something that makes sense:  “The consequence of making a mistake here is huge.  We’ve unfortunately had many examples of having made mistakes before.”  Meanwhile, most of the stories have played out in the business world talking about the billions that Vivus will make if the drug is approved. Of course it will be more than enough to pay the lawsuits for the families of the people who die.

The trifecta of men behind the curtain was complete when Disney used their magic to stereotype fat people and claiming that it would help make kids healthy.  Of course, there’s not a shred of evidence to support that, and there is a ton of evidence that shaming kids and making them scared of being fat predicts disordered eating and decreased health. But hey, we’ve abandoned evidence-based medicine in our healthcare system so why would we expect Disney to hold themselves to a higher standard.

These tricks are all easy to see through.  But all of these would-be magicians have something in common – they want to make fat people disappear.  These people are actively engaged in the psychosis that they should get to decide what size people should be.  Then they make a ton of money on a campaign to rid the Earth of people who look like me. And the kicker is that all that money comes from people who look like me.  I refuse.  I say no.  My body is fine exactly as it is and the only magician who is allowed to try to make me disappear will be in Vegas,  and will have a plan to bring me back exactly as I was – I’ll buy a ticket for that.

In the meantime I was watching re-runs of The Sing-Off and saw this great number that combines one of the great protest songs of all time (or at least since I was in Junior High) with one of my favorite types of music – a capella.  Enjoy!

My work is supported by my readers rather than corporate ads.  If you feel that you get value out of the blog, can afford it, and want to support my work and activism, please consider a paid subscription or a one-time contribution.  The regular e-mail subscription (available at the top right hand side of this page) is always completely free.   Thanks for reading! ~Ragen

Published in: on February 25, 2012 at 9:03 am  Comments (6)  

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ah I LIVE for The Sing-Off and I loved the Aires!

  2. THIS.
    And here’s another good anthem for us. Remember Tears for Fears?
    SHOUT. SHOUT.
    LET IT ALL OUT.
    THESE ARE THE THINGS I CAN DO WITHOUT.
    COME ON!
    I’M TALKIN’ TO YOU.

    Good stuff.

    • Darn tootin’!!

  3. You. Rock.

  4. “Hey Rocky, watch me pull a rabbit out of my hat!”
    “Again? But that trick never works.”

    If only real life were more like Rocky and Bullwinkle.

    Awesome version of that song. I love me a good protest song.

  5. Just what fat-hating corporate entities need: A disapproving rabbit.


Leave a Reply

