The Swimsuit Post

This is a re-re-post.  In fact it’s a DWF tradition.  Today I got my first e-mails and comments from readers who are worried about buying swimsuits, so today I post this.  Enjoy! 

Pink Argyle Bikini

Fantastic art by Jodee Rose http://jodee.deviantart.com/gallery/

Do you know Golda Poretsky?  You should.  She is a very cool woman doing great work in the Body Positive Community. Her site is Body Love Wellness and I highly recommend it.

Yesterday she tweeted;  “Rec’d a link to “How Not To Look Fat In A Swimsuit”. Wld ♥ to see “How Not To Obsess Abt Looking Fat In A Swimsuit & F-ing Enjoy Yourself”

Well Golda, your wish is my command!

Seriously, let’s talk about this.  It seems that almost every woman I know, of any size, starts to have panic attacks the first time she sees swimsuits out on the floor of her favorite store;  their pesky cheerfulness belying their greater purpose of  prodding us into going on insane cabbage soup diets and considering a move to Alaska.

Let me preface this by saying that I don’t personally spend much time at lakes, rivers, oceans, pools or water parks.  It has nothing to do with my size or how I feel about wearing a bathing suit.  I am half Irish and half German so my skin can only achieve two colors:  translucent and lobster.  I’ve tried every sunscreen in the world and nothing works.  But don’t cry for me Argentina, I don’t really enjoy being in the sun so it all works out.  I’m a chlorinated, heated water, ambient temperature controlled, indoor pool kind of girl – I’m not high maintenance, I’m highly maintained.

That being said, I will strut around my gym in a bathing suit with no worries.  Here are a few reasons why:

1.  It’s my BODY.  I live with it 100% of the time.  It does awesome things for me like breathing, and walking, and swimming and I decided long ago that I am not going to allow anyone to convince me to hate or be ashamed of  something that I am with 100% of the time for the rest of my life.  I get to choose how I feel about my body – nobody else can make me feel good or bad, it’s on me.

2.  Because it’s a pool and when you go to the pool, you wear a swimsuit. It’s not for vanity – it’s practical.  The last time I was at the gym ready to make use of the pool there was a “thin to average size” (probably a size 8 or 10)  woman in a large t-shirt with a towel wrapped around her legs and all the way to her ankles.  She scooted to the edge of the pool and, in a move that I can only describe as ninja-esque, threw the towel behind her as she jumped into the water as fast as she could whilst grabbing a kickboard off the side.  But her Crouching Tiger Hidden Swimwear moves could not mask the fact that she was wearing control top pantyhose under her suit.  She looked at me and said “Nobody should have to see these legs without hose on”.  Before I could reply, she realized that her shirt was caught on the side railing, then her pantyhose got caught on her kickboard.  While I swam laps she spent most of the time dealing with being in the water with a giant shirt and pantyhose.  I am simply not willing to put up with that kind of inconvenience, or  have my technique interrupted by a ginormous swatch of cloth which, when it is wet, hides nothing anyway; and pantyhose which I will not wear under any circumstances in the world, ever.

3.  I do not care if people are offended by my body.  People are allowed to be offended by whatever they want and it’s really none of my business.  I’m offended by people who are offended by my body, but it turns out nobody gives a damn which is as it should be.  It is my BODY, if we all treated each other with basic human respect it would be impossible to be offended by someone else’s body.  The very idea is ludicrous to me. Regardless, it is not my job to protect people’s delicate sensibilities – there are at least three alternate cardinal directions in which they can look if they don’t want to look at me, they are free to choose one.

4.  Hypocrisy is an ugly thing.  It always seems like the same group of people who are  telling me that I should lose weight and are subsequently  offended by my body in a swimsuit.  While I would prefer that they just shut up, I insist that they choose – you can’t complain about my weight and then complain about what I do to stay fit.

5. It is maddening to me that the diet industry makes 60 BILLION dollars a year convincing women to hate themselves.  They create fear and uncertainty by saying things like “Swimsuit season is just around the corner, are you ready to wear a swimsuit?”  Well, let’s see here…  Swimsuit?  Check.  Body to put it on?  Check.  Yup, I’m all set thanks.  Plus I think I’ll keep my money you bloodsucking leeches.

6.  People can see me.  So they know how big I am whether I’m in a swimsuit, or jeans and a t-shirt.  If they are shocked at my size in a swimsuit, they should have been paying better attention.  That’s just a big sack of not-my-problem.

I realize that my swimsuit preferences are not everyone’s which is awesome.  Not everyone, regardless of size, is comfortable with how much skin a swimsuit shows.  Here are some more ideas  to help you stop obsessing and start having fun in the sun (or the oh-so-flattering incandescent glow of the overhead lights at the gym).

1. Alternative Swimsuits.  These are often created for women who want to keep to specific religious clothing guidelines or who just want a more modest look.  I did a quick Google search and found http://www.modestkini.com/.  I’m not affiliated with them at all so I make no guarantees, but it will give you an idea of what’s out there (and some of their plus size swimwear is actually modeled by plus-sized women.  Woot!)

2.  Fabulous Cover ups:  If there’s a particular part of your body that you prefer to keep covered for whatever reason, an (aptly-named) cover-up might be just the thing.  Here are some examples (again, no affiliation, check out the vendors before you buy!)

3.  Safety in numbers.  Go with a group of people who make you feel good about yourself and focus on the fun and not on any body insecurities you might have.  Think about how fantastic your body feels when you are swimming, or going down a water slide, or splashing in the waves.

4.  Reality check.  One of my favorite quotes is by Mark Twain “I’ve had thousands of problems in my life, most of which never actually happened”  When I’m worrying about something I try to remember that I am wasting energy on something that is not actually part of reality.  So instead I…

5.  …Expect the best, plan for the worst.  Think about what your true fears are about going out in a swimsuit.  Write them down and then create a plan to deal with each of them.  Are you afraid people will say something mean to you?  Create some scripting and practice it until you feel comfortable (you might check out my How Dare You post). Afraid of chaffing?  Hie thee to Google and read up on the various lotions, powders etc. that can help with that, or look into swimsuits that can help. Worried people will talk about you behind your back?  Maybe get over that – I actually think that’s the best possible outcome because frankly I don’t want to hear it anyway.

In the end of course it’s your choice.  For my part,  I’m not willing to allow my options for fun, activity, movement etc. to be controlled by what other people might think or say.  If my own fears or insecurities are getting in the way I try to find a way over (modest swimsuit), under (cover up), or through (F this, I’m wearing a bikini) the fear and insecurity because I’ve found that very often the pure joy lies just on the other side.

Like the blog?  Here’s more of my stuff:

Become a member: Keep this blog ad-free, support the activism work I do, and get deals from cool businesses Click here for details

The Book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

Dance Class DVDs:  Buy the Dance Class DVDs – Every Body Dance Now! Click here for details

Published in: on April 9, 2013 at 7:57 am  Comments (46)  

46 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love this post. I wear a swimsuit to work EVERY day (I work at the YMCA pool).
    The swimmers come in all shapes and sizes, and it seems that those who are weight obsessed are too busy worrying about their own appearance to focus on anybody else, anyway… so just have fun!

  2. How to get a bikini body…..are you ready for it- the number 1 fail-proof way!!! No dieting, exercise, pills, or meetings!!!

    Put a bikini, on your body! Just do it!

  3. I LOVE this post!

    I went 8 years without wearing a swimsuit. It was that terrifying to me. Then I had kids. And I don’t want them to not experience that much fun because of my insecurities. So we got a Y membership and I bought a swimsuit. I might not be the hottest mommy on the block in my size 18 swimsuit, but I’ve become all to aware that there are an awful lot of mommies out there who are far smaller than me that are too caught up in poor body image issues that they won’t go swimming with their kids. And I think that’s sad, because everyone’s missing out.

    • And I should mention, that it’s in large part due to this blog that I got the gumption to actually buy a swimsuit that fit me properly, to put it on and to go swimming on a fairly regular basis. I have spent the vast majority of my life hating the body I live in (even though there have been times I’ve been far smaller). It’s about damn time I stop the nonsense and just start enjoying it and living life with my kids without all the body hangups.

      • Good for you! My mom NEVER wore a swimsuit and never played with me in the water. It made me very sad as a child. Also a bit lonely. Once I asked her about and she said she was too fat.

        However, when I turned 15 she had a hysterectomy and I discovered that for decades she’d suffered from horrible fibroids complete with nearly constant heavy periods and anemia.

        I like to think the fibroids are the real reason, but she was hung up on her weight too.

    • Thanks for sharing that. I have a little one and I will do my best to get myself a swimsuit and enjoy that time with her without letting my own body issues get in the way.

  4. There is a group of Pool Mommies who hang out at my neighbourhood’s pool every summer. They pretty much camp out there, from 10 am to 4 pm, every day. Their kids live in the water, they bring a huge ice chest full of food and drink, and the little ones nap on the deck chairs when necessary. It’s pretty much a Pool Mommy Community there in the corner…they take over about 5 tables and 20 chairs. And every single one of them is about 30, very slender, bikini-clad, manicured, pedicured, the works. And beautifully tanned, with perfectly dyed hair, sipping from a bottomless cool cup of diet soda. Occasionally one will go in the water with their kids but only up to their midsections, refusing to get their hair or faces wet. Then they’ll shimmy out of the pool and quickly dry themselves off and pick up a magazine or a cigarette and pick up where they left off.

    It’s a Pool Culture. You all know it because you’ve seen it. And you know how it feels to be shut out of it.

    And I’m over under an umbrella with my pale white flab, my cheap Old Navy swimsuit, my face covered in sunscreen, a giant hat on my head, under my umbrella. When I get hot enough, I get up and jump in the pool and swim my 30 laps because if I don’t the genetic arthritis I have slowly creeping over my entire upper body will make my muscles seize up, and I won’t be able to walk the next day. Once in the water I transform because despite my bulk, I can swim like a dolphin. When I get out, my hair’s a mess, and I look like I was rode hard and put away wet, but I USED the pool. It’s then I feel fantastic.

    And I’m still white a sheet because at 42 I still get mistaken for late 20s as I have almost no sun damage whilst those Pool Mommies–every single one–have freckles the size of nickles all over their shoulders and arms, and judging by the scars on their backs, some of have had things removed. But they keep going, every year, because dammit, they’re thin and they deserve to be seen in their binkinis.

    At that point I feel like I win because no matter how many rolls, bumps, dimples, or curves I have, being obese isn’t going to kill me but skin cancer sure as hell will. Then I don’t feel so guilty about not wearing a “fantastic” bikini or being skinny and bronzed or “swimsuit ready”. I’m ready right now, as I am.

    • I love your thoughts. I worry about skin cancer because back in the 1970’s when I was a little kid in New Mexico, my brother and I ran around near to buck nekkid all the time, getting horrible sunburns that resulted in blisters. Nobody knew squat about skin cancer in those days. I also got sun poisoning when I was on vacation in California–had these tiny blisters all over the top part of my chest, itchy as hell! Who knows what damage was done. I don’t lose sleep over it, but I do think about it.

  5. Yay! I love this post. Glad to see it again!

  6. When I was a teenager , I participated in a summer day camp . I had never had body image issues before ,and they all made fun of me in my bathing suit . They all called me fat ,and kept making comments on how ugly I was in it . It also didn’t help that I went on the diving board for the first time ,and had a particularly difficult time swimming out of it. I was “saved” by a life guard ,and the person who was with us was like “why didn’t you tell me , you can’t swim?” I had swimming lesson from ages 4-9 years old I could swim I just am not a strong swimmer . It was an awful day , I have been self conscious ever since ,and I did not return to that day camp ever again except the next day for my mom to un-register me. I am slowly getting over my swimsuit phobia , I have a lot of inner recovery to do from teenage traumas and most of them center around weight .

  7. I have actually had the swimsuit issue.
    It’s one of the few that still haunt me, because when I go to Belly dance conventions and such, well there is always a hot tub party.
    I Live in Florida, so like most Floridians I own a Pool, Hell My Fiance WORKS in a Pool Store!
    So I am ALWAYS looking at the oh so photo shopped pictures of happy thin people in Bikinis on rafts or working out or whatever other marketing there is.
    At my pool at home my mom, well she projects ALL her weight issues all OVER the place. My Step Father and I are not small people. He isn’t small cause he is at that “I’m 70-and-i-will-do-what-i-want” Stage of life (not saying anything mean against people who are older, it’s just his personal motto I guess)
    He USE to be VERY self conscious about how he looked in a Bathing suit. This is a fought in Vietnam, Tank Commander, purple heart, Trippe Bypass survivor, and he is self conscious about the car on his chest and his stomach…..
    HE WAS A FREAKING TANK COMMANDER! He was in war!
    And yet the pool and public made him feel self conscious……
    I don’t get that.
    But back to my current dilemma. I dance, and I show my stomach, I show a LOT more skin a lot of times then a bathing suit would, hell I have a giant tattoo on my stomach, and yet, the thought of trying to find a suit that would make me “fit in” in a place where everyone is just out to have fun..well even if I could get over my OWN issues, my mother with her 5-10 different bathing suits a YEAR (including some she buys as “motivation” like bikinis and such to inspire her to work out more to fit into them)
    She will try and go shopping with me, which is a disaster because she picks out suits that are…just hideous.
    The BEST Suit I ever got was with my best friend. She is VERY tiny, but somehow she found a suit, and made me try it on, and pronounced me fabulous, and I believed her, enough to go to the beach! and I actually have an allergy to the sun (from a medication I was on a long time ago, one of the side effects became permanent and now I get blisters if I am in the sun too long)
    So how do I combat this?
    Well, number 1 keep my mom the HELL away form me and my swim wear (cause she is ALWAYS trying to buy me suits and cover ups and swim shirts, because even though I am allergic to the sun and she has pestered me about getting in that god forsaken pool to the point I don’t want to set FOOT in it, she STILL thinks I need something to wear, cause she thinks it’s fun, like a wheel of torture)
    Number two, stick with my man.
    While at work, he will pick up a package that has some model in a swim suit on it and start laughing at how badly it’s photo shopped and point the different things out to me. He does this with Magazines as well. So that even THOSE images can’t hurt me.
    He thinks I am beautiful even if I am wearing a burlap sack, so I take him.

    And the belly dance hot tub party?
    Well that is just something I have to get over. They are there to have fun and party and they would like me to join them, and I know most of them would tear a shirt designed to cover myself off me because it is a place where all bodies and every body is beautiful. And not a single person there will make ANYONE feel bad about their bodies.

    I just need to take that feeling home with me and to a water park😀

    And maybe it will work in getting my mom to leave me the hell alone about suits…

  8. I haven’t owned or worn a swimsuit since I was 16. I’m now 37. The idea of being in one horrifies me, but it’s something I’d like to try to get over because there are very few physical activities I can do thanks to chronic pain from fibromyalgia, and I always loved swimming.

    I think the bigger problem is knowing our local pool is at the high school. Sigh.

    There was a time when I was about 13 or 14. I was at a church pool party (back when I still went to church). The cute thin girls were all covered up and hiding. Honestly, one of those girls was an attention whore, and she just wanted people to say “omg, but you’re so thin, why are you hiding?” The following summer at church camp she stripped down to a rather skimpy bikini without any covering up. Which is fine, good for her… but it was, again, an attention thing. The cover up didn’t get her attention, so she went to the other extreme. I was wearing my plus size swimsuit and swimming my heart out and I didn’t try to hide my body.

    I don’t know what happened to that girl. It’s not like she hadn’t been told by plenty of people thousands of times she was fat. She just didn’t care. She loved to swim, was good at it and just let it all hang out, so to speak.

    I wish I could get back some of that “I don’t give a fuck” attitude about this particular issue. Admittedly, that girl had a cute curvy body. She didn’t know it, but she did. I’ve gotten a lot bigger and I don’t feel even slightly cute, and I guess that is a. on me and b. part of my swimsuit phobia.

  9. I am just back from my aqua class at the gym, it s lovely, most of us are plus sized. I have never been bothered about wearing a swimsuit, something I am glad about.

  10. The swimsuit issue used to be such a hassle for me. I prefer two piece suits that look like a one piece. It’s just a physical comfort thing for me. If I can’t be chunky-dunking in a private access, clear water creek at sunset, then I want my volumunious rolls under control and not fighting me for which direction we are going to swim…lol Sadly, due to my useless dieting over the years, my fatty tissue is not marbled into my muscle and my skin is loose. So, like a poorly tied life jacket, it all floats away from my frame and it just doesn’t feel good to me. I haven’t gotten into the water in a long time (due to my foot wound) but I have hopes that this summer will be a new start.

  11. My skin is practically translucent, my body is not perfect, but 2 years ago I starting doing triathlons. I HAD to learn to swim, and I found out that nothing feels as wonderful on a summer evening as swimming in a lake under the stars. I wouldn’t give it up now for the world. I don’t care what I look like in a swimsuit, I’m still in a lake two to three times weekly all summer long (which, in Minnesota, is all too brief…)

    Thanks for this post. I loved it.

  12. I was going to make some stupid comment about “I have a bikini body, it’s in the trunk of my car”, but that would be better aimed at one of the fitness magazines that will be plastering that crap on their cover about now. Thank you for reposting this; it’s timely. Like you, I probably won’t be wearing a swimsuit much this season, for reasons that have nothing to do with size. However, I hate wearing shorts because of body shame, and it just now hit me that I’m being ridiculous. “I’ve had thousands of problems in my life, most of which have never actually happened” – that is fabulous!

    • HAHAHAHA!!! I lollered. That’s a hysterical answer.😀

    • I rarely laugh out loud at things I read on the internet but that….was poetry. I will be stealing it and not giving credit, just so you know.

    • By the way, when I mention “body shame”, I should point out that it’s something besides size that embarrasses me. I’ve got some spider veins on the inside of one knee that I don’t like, but after reading this post I realized that they aren’t a big deal to anyone but me. Size acceptance is important, as an overall part of self acceptance.

  13. I adore you. Just saying.

  14. I have the translucent/Lobster skin, too, and my biggest problem finding a suit is finding one that isn’t in a color designed to Flatter my Tan. All these tropical colors – make me look ill…

    I haven’t really swum for years – didn’t have reasonable access to a pool for a long time, and haven’t been well enough recently – but I always did enjoy swimming, and plan to start again.

    My great discovery, though, was that my local Sporting Goods store had Speedo – yes, Speedo – swimsuits in my size. (Looking at the website – up to 24, which won’t help everyone, but… many of us…) It’s not a Cute Beach Suit – it’s for swimming, which is what I do…Mine has a racing back (so my straps don’t fall down) and high cut legs (which I find more comfortable, with my long legs) and the spandex is for support… and I think it says “I mean business!” With it, when I do get into a pool on a vacation, no one seems surprised that I swim laps, through the people just bouncing around… Mine is black, because that does look good against the alabaster skin – but they have a few other colors as well. (I seem to remember a red, though they don’t appear to have that, now.)

  15. Standing Ovation! The tips for getting over wearing a swim suit in public remind me a lot of things to do when in fear about a lot of things, like public speaking or starting a business.

    I personally love wearing guys swim trunks, because it cuts down on the “chub rub”🙂 and is remarkably comfortable. There is one event for women I go to some times that is clothing optional, and I just go around the entire event in swim trunks and converse.

  16. I hate how stores market bikinis for girls my size and expect plus-size girls to wear muu-muu suits. My style is more conservative and I prefer the covered-up look, but on the other hand, a girl should be allowed to wear a bikini even if she is a larger size. People need to get over their biases. I swam on a team with many plus-sized girls and we all wore the same suit. Guess what? We all rocked our super-tight purple suits and no one died.

  17. I’m sorry, but those plus sized swim suits on modestkini.com are awful! By wearing something like that, it is almost as if I am giving into society by agreeing that because I am fat, I need to cover up! Come on, they are even covering up their heads! We plus size divas should be able to wear REGULAR suits that show off our curves. Not cover the up like they do on modestkini.com. There is nothing “modest” about those things. They are absolutely hideous!!! (so is my spelling!)

    • It sounds like those suits aren’t for you which is totally cool. Of course you can wear whatever suit you want, as can people who want to wear suits like those on modestkini either for religious reasons, because they find them attractive, because they are more comfortable in them etc. I think it’s awesome that you are standing up for your access to the kind of swimsuit that you want to wear, I would ask you to consider being willing to stand up for other women, even if their choices are different than yours.

      ~Ragen

    • Just to add one tiny thing, I saw a note on the site to the effect that those suits are designed with Muslim women in mind. This way they can enjoy the water, too!🙂

      • These suits are definitely aimed at women who for some reason choose not to expose any skin, usually for religious reasons, I have seen many Muslim ladies wearing them, but also for women who are embarrassed about skin disfigurements such a severe scarring, or with skin problems which are made worse by the water – certain types of eczema etc. As Ragen says, people can choose what they wear in the pool.

  18. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU FOR THIS POST!!! My best friend and I began swimming at the Y many years ago – we’re both plus size gals. She’s lost a lot of weight and got out of her wheelchair – she’s now the water aerobics instructor -and she’s 300lbs plus. I am SO PROUD of her! INSTRUCTOR!!!

    What I love even more is the WIDE VARIETY of ages/sizes/shapes of all the people in her classes! Men, Women, Young, Old, and all sizes are all comfortable coming into the pool together to work out and have a great time.

    On our journey to find good bathing suits that we were comfortable wearing, we found this store http://www.sanctuarie.net/ They have lovely swimming dresses, which is what we started with. I have since moved on to swimming shorts and a swim tank top – I’m comfortable in this outfit and it moves well in the water.. most of all, it was AFFORDABLE!!!

  19. I work at a place that has a therapy pool. I work out during hours when no-one else is there, in part because I work at night but also in part because I really, really, really do not want anyone to see me in a swimsuit, ever. I no longer call myself names like “fat pig,” but I do not think I will ever be comfortable with other people seeing me in a swimsuit.

  20. Reblogged this on The Cheese Whines and commented:
    I work at a place that has a therapy pool. I work out during hours when no-one else is there, in part because I work at night but also in part because I really, really, really do not want anyone to see me in a swimsuit, ever. I no longer call myself names like “fat pig,” but I do not think I will ever be comfortable with other people seeing me in a swimsuit.
    I love Ragen’s blog and I love Ragen, but I haven’t visited her blog in a while. The last few times I’ve felt like other commenters were attacking me. Having been bullied when I was younger, this was really off putting. Aren’t we all in the same boat, having a vilified body type? Guess even those whom you’d think might be allies start sniffing for blood.

    • Oh, Cie. *hugs* We absolutely are in the same boat (I prefer to think of it as a luxury yacht!). Sometimes even well-meaning individuals (myself included) can come off as high-and-mighty, even in otherwise safe spaces. I hope you will come back. I think we all need our assumptions challenged from time to time.

      • Luxury Yacht–I like that!🙂
        Thanks for the kind thoughts. My bipolar has been kicking my Ayusss lately.

        • ADHD here. And some depression. You’re not alone.

  21. Just as an aside…Land’s End has their Tugless Tank on offer for about $54 right now. It’s a good, basic suit and has a variety of bra options (I need the underwire because of my DDs…).

  22. I bought one of those retro looking one pieces. Love it! It is super cute. I wore it to a public pool last year–something I thought was a thing of the past for me. I was with my skinny mom who often makes me feel so self-conscious. She loves to stick her foot in her mouth. Anyway, I had my hair pulled up, was wearing my retro looking Betsy Johnson sunglasses (which I got on clearance and ARE a thing of the past as i broke them.) and I have several tattoos including a full sleeve. My mom was staring at me and I was starting to get an attitude and was about to ask what her deal was when she said, “You look really cute. You have the whole rockabilly thing going on.”😀 I do have to admit though, it is still hard for me to walk around in my swimsuit and not feel nervous that everyone is noticing the size of my thighs and all the cellulite. We homeschool here in Las Vegas and all the homeschool moms are always planning pool parties. I will take the kids but not wear my swimsuit. I can’t actually swim in the chlorine due to thyroid disease so I used that as an excuse for showing up in jeans and a tee shirt.

    • Your line “I can’t actually swim in the chlorine due to thyroid disease” caught my attention. I have hypothyroidism. Should I be concerned about chlorinated water?

  23. Just, thank you. I really find your writing, your attitudes and priorities (specifically prioritizing JOY!) so, well, joyful!

  24. Reblogged this on ScorpionSyrup.

  25. Like many people here, I hated myself in a swimsuit. I loved swimming though and my body issues didn’t stop me from doing that (although I was always very self-conscious). But since I started reading this blog I’ve come a long way and last year I actually bought a bikini! With red polka dots!🙂 I bought it after the summer though, so I will only be wearing it for the first time this year.

    Anyway, I love this post. I especially like the part where you reply to all the magazines’ “articles” about being swimsuit-ready: “Swimsuit? Check. Body to put it on? Check. Yup, I’m all set thanks.” That will be my mantra from now on.

  26. “Swimsuit? Check. Body to put it on? Check. Yup, I’m all set thanks.”

    This is the most awesome sentence. I shall remember it. I may even have to drag my bikini out of the very bottom of the holiday box and wear it in your honour!

    Oh, and I’m really glad someone has finally thought to make properly modest swimsuits for those who feel the need to wear them.

  27. Swimsuits…*shudder*. This is the one area of body acceptance and learning to love myself where I am completely stalled (well, and lingerie). When I was in daycare as a young kid, maybe 6 or 7 I remember being teased by the older girls because I was bigger than the other kids my age. Looking back at pictures of myself I was small and yet those girls made me feel so self conscious just the thought of swim days made me sick. I want to be able to get a suit and feel good in it, just gotta learn to get the mean girl memories out of my head.

    • That sucks. As I struggle with my own body acceptance, I find it helps to take pictures of myself to look at. Somehow it is less judgemental than looking in a mirror. I also find it helpful to look at all the different shapes and sizes people come in. Maybe you could find a reason to go to a pool and look at all the different body types wearing suits.

  28. I have to admit to wearing a swimsuit with legs (like in built cycle shorts), my own issue being “hair related” a great unspoken taboo. Not helped by having an Irish complexion. One zip of the razor and I’m covered in ingrown hairs- the only thing that seems to work now (and not brilliantly) is deodorant and facial scrub. My best friend also wears a leg suit but she’s conscious of her legs as she has an eczema like condition and any bang or knock leaves her skin raw. Of course, I think her legs look fine. We all get tangled up in our own imaginations and the photo shopped images in magazines.

    Wear whatever makes you comfortable to get from the changing room to the pool edge. After that, no one can see anything. Once you start swimming regularly, you’ll see others who might be the same or larger than you who look perfectly fine in a regular swim suit. Swimming is such a good way to relax, you’re denying yourself a really cool activity you’ll have wished you’d started years ago. Dive in!

  29. When I went online today to google what to do with the fact that my brand new Speedos is parading my belly around, I would have never expected to be enlightened and uplifted in a world full of hypocrites. Thanks for having this blog. The world needs more people like you!

  30. Reblogged this on Mugglestones and Mayhem and commented:
    So glad my daughter pointed out my self body-shaming! Strong Millennial Females to the rescue of embarrassed Generation X’ers! Reblogging. the “swimsuit post!” Acceptance is my key. Stop the judging…

    Mo

  31. Reblogged! Thank you for this gem!
    Mo


Leave a Reply

