Size Acceptance in Kind of Crappy Graphics

I often have the desire to create fabulous graphics to express Size Acceptance and Health at Every Size concepts.  Unfortunately, the tools that I am working with are Microsoft Paint and my wits so this is the reality!  The first four basically stand alone. the second four may be best explained in the articles that accompany them – you can click a graphic to get a blog post with more information:

BMI Graphic Final

Underpants boss

Success and Diets

My Body My Business

 

Cookie Monster Truvia

Just to clarify, I’m not trying to food shame those who eat Truvia. My issue is that they market it using self-hatred and serious misinformation. I created this graphic to accompany a blog about it that you can see by clicking on the graphic if you want the full scoop.

 

Before After

Can't believe I'm not butter

Gatorade Body

Like the blog?  Here’s more of my stuff!

Interviews with Amazing Activists!!  Help Activists tell our movement’s history in their own words.  Support In Our Own Words:  A Fat Activist History Project!

Become a member: For just ten bucks a month you can keep this blog ad-free, support the activism work I do, and get deals from cool businesses Click here for details

The Book:  Fat:  The Owner’s Manual  The E-Book is Name Your Own Price! Click here for details

Dance Classes:  Buy the Dance Class DVDs or download individual classes – Every Body Dance Now! Click here for details

Published in: on August 18, 2013 at 11:57 am  Comments (21)  

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Being a digital artist, I have to say, I like what ya got going there. Doesn’t need to be fancy, it’s short sweet, and straight to the point. Well done😀

  2. Last is best!🙂

  3. I like them all except two of the last three — getting into “good food, bad food.”.

    For example, you may not like Truvia, which is fine. You’re the boss of your own food choices, but not of mine.

    So happens that Truvia is a recent choice of mine that is working exceedingly well for this diabetic body. I’m proud of taking this excellent self-care step.

    No need for you to call it “crap”. That’s like me looking at your plate of just-right-for-you food and saying “How can you eat that shit?”

    • Thanks for your comment and congratulations on your self care. My issue with Truvia wasn’t with people eating it, it was with their sales pitch and the misinformation contained therein. In the article that the picture links to I say “I’m not here to tell anyone what to eat and what not to eat. I am here to say that selling artificial sweetener (or anything for that matter) by trying to make people feel guilty and hate themselves is bullshit and I hope that I’m not the only one who thinks so.”

      I hope that makes more sense. I’m not sure which other pictures you meant were good food and bad food. I think it might be that those pictures don’t stand alone as the others do, I’ll add a note to explain. Thanks again for the comment.

      ~Ragen

      • AmpleThanks, Ragen, for your quick and thoughtful reply.

        I haven’t seen the Truvia ad.

        One of the benefits and risks of creating visual memes, as you’re doing here, is that they tend (and need) to stand alone, without assuming the viewers know, or care about, the context or reference.

        If a picture (or graphic) is worth 1000 words, be sure they are the 1000 words you intend. Some things are better communicated with actual words. Perhaps creating a graphic that needs a note is kinda like telling a joke that needs explaining?

      • If you want to make the graphic stand on its own, what if, instead of the box of Truvia, it was a TV screen with a snippet of the food-hating jingle shown, and the Truvia logo just in a corner? That might make it clearer that the “crap” is the advertising, not the product.

  4. I think that might have been about Truvia’s ad campaign. I’m finding Truvia working for my diabetic body as well.

    Yesterday a co-worker asked if I’d seen her email (sent to the whole company) about a weight-loss class to be offered at work. I love this co-worker, but it pissed me off. So the underpants graph was appreciated today.

  5. Lol good work!
    When it comes to making graphics, I’ve found that using Microsoft Publisher works well for me (I just discovered this in the last year or so I think). My sister insists that Power Point rocks, but I haven’t had to use Power Point in so long that I can’t remember how to use it these days!

  6. Sometimes simpler is better. Those Venn diagrams say it all with minimal clutter or confusion.

    • Exactly. I do a fair amount of graphic design (no educational background in it, though) for work. These do it right.

  7. I can imagine having “success/dieting” made into a bumper sticker and then having my car attacked by so many who have the “secret” to dieting and leaving their helpful flyers on my windshield!

  8. My favorite is the “before and after” picture. It made me snork.😀 Keep rocking on wit’ you bad self!!

    • My favourite too! Never seen a better before-after pic

  9. One of the “health” magazines I read had an article about “skinny-fat” (women, in particular), women who have “average/normal” bodies (i.e., 5’5″ and 130 pounds) and how these women are at risk for diabetes etc. It’s like using guilt regarding your size, no matter your size, will make you buy their products -sends me the absolute opposite direction! When will folks realize a body is a body is a body, and not in need of “help” until one becomes ill? I so admire the way you move your body. It makes you feel good. That’s why I swim and walk. folks assume because I am fat, I never get off the couch, but I’m thinking I move more than them. Thank you for your spot on information!

  10. Great graphics IMO! You get your point across very succinctly and I love it!

  11. Absolutely fantastic. So awesome!

  12. This is a fun post. I enjoyed it. And it seemed as if you enjoyed creating it. Brava.

  13. There are some pita crackers that I really like and I had been buying them for awhile before I saw the stuff on the box. The company is called “Sensible Portions” and it actually says on the box: “This is your portion: 9 crackers”. So, I’m now a two year old and have to have a box tell me how many crackers I can have??? I was so disgusted with it that I’ve quit buying them, even though they are good.

    • I’ve seen other products with an approximate serving number on them, but I don’t find that annoying as it’s a suggestion, if they were to make an absolute statement I’d be annoyed.

      The absolute statement of portion size on the crackers is annoying, some people might eat less than the portion and some might eat more, neither choice should have a judgement attached, but with a definite portion size stated it suggests someone out there would judge you if you ate more and that is not something I’d want to deal with when choosing a snack.

      Suggested portions can be useful for judging if a snack is good value, but once you’ve seen what they suggest is a serving you get to decide on what you’ll eat without the impression of judgement behind it.

      Hope that makes sense.

  14. My favorite body acceptance t-shirt was custom made by a friend of mine:

    Yes, I’m Fat
    Yes, I have diabetes

    NO, I did not get this way
    eatting too many cookies

    • please excuse my spelling error.. it is late on the last day of the week….


Leave a Reply

